PDA

View Full Version : More the merrier?

Joel Simmons
4th February 2002, 18:54
Aloha all,

I have a question to ask for anyone who knows more about martial arts than me (which is just about everyone).

Is it good to study more than one art at a time if you consider yourself to be a novice? I'm studying Takeuchi-ryu, but my initial experience with martial arts was with Okinawan karate. Participating in a traditional art such as Takeuchi-ryu has revived my interest in karate, but I don't know if I should begin to study karate again since I'm only a beginner in Takeuchi-ryu. I talked it over with my sensei, and he told me that its okay to study more than one art, just make sure that you can differentiate between the two arts. He also told me that if a person studys more than one art, eventually one of the arts will become the dominant art and the other(s) will become secondary in focus.

I completely agree with what he has told me. I guess I'm just asking for some other personal accounts of how difficult/enjoyable it may have been for someone else to study two arts.

Neil Hawkins
4th February 2002, 23:31
Different people learn differently, I've found it preferable for student to stick with one thing until they get to the stage where that becomes natural, then you can start doing other things without confusion.

I personally did jujutsu for nearly ten years before I started looking into other arts. I found that I picked up the others fairly quickly because of my background in jujutsu, but now, another ten years later, I find that pretty much everything I do is based around the jujutsu rather than the other things I played with.

I enjoy training with different instructors in different styles and believe it helps me improve. I especially would suggest that after a few years you add a weapons art to your empty hand ones, a weapon is really good for improving distance and timing and improves your jujutsu appreciably.

Regards

Neil

rsamurai2
5th February 2002, 20:39