PDA

View Full Version : aikido and self defense

ALDOG
9th March 2002, 14:08
i would like to know why is it a such a big issue in aikido dojo's to mention self-defense? at least here in miami. and also why is my karma so low i just started a few days ago:D

Ben23
23rd March 2002, 13:13
Jack,

Do you train in Aikido?
I suppose its possible that you do. Since starting Aikido, I have sought out media covering the art and have been dissapointed to discover overtly aggressive practitioners being given the limelight. I have studied under two sensis in the five years since I started training - one a first dan and one a fith. They both emphasised protecting yourself without harming your opponent. For me this is the philosophy which drives aikido - the philosophy which drove Ueshiba to develop Aikido out of the techniques taught to him in Aiki JuJitsu. I always was a bit of a pacifist even before I discovered Aikido and when I started training (originally for exercise, tsch) I was fascinated by this concept of avoid/disarm/restrain as opposed to clash/knockout as was taught in Karate and Tai-boxing classes I attended.