PDA

View Full Version : Terminology question

KengiF
14th March 2002, 22:43
Elsewhere Earl Hartman wrote:

The appellation of "ryu" to the older traditions is sort of an anachronism, and even celebrated lineages such as the Ogasawara Ryu refer mainly to family traditions, or "kaden", which later developed the characteristics we associate with the term "ryu" today.

I've heard several terms now that seem to translate into the word "lineage", and may (by some) be called a "ryu". On the other hand, being a complete novice as far as the japanese language is concerned ...

What are the nuances, proper useage, and common usage of the terms "ryu", "ryu-ha", "kaden", and "kuden"? For instance, I have been told that "kuden" is a form of transmission and really can't be compared to lineage (apples & oranges) - why is "kaden" different? In common usage "ryu" and "ryu-ha" are often used interchangeably. How are they actually supposed to be used? Are there any more terms that historians might use?

Oh ... did I mention that I'm a novice ...? ;)

Jeff Hamacher
15th March 2002, 03:12
Originally posted by KengiF
What are the nuances, proper useage, and common usage of the terms "ryu", "ryu-ha", "kaden", and "kuden"?
ryu in common usage means "style; mode; way", but can also be synonymous to ryuha, which in common use means "school", as in the expression "school of thought". thus, ryu and ryuha might both be used to discuss or refer to a particular school or style of many japanese traditional arts, including martial training.