PDA

View Full Version : Go tactics & ideas

HHman
30th July 2000, 01:16
Hi!
I'm new to go playing, stumbling across it one day at e-budo :D. My question is why was go developed? I understand that there is a long history behind it.

I've been playing it in total for about a month Vs my friend, and it's a fun game. Generally i try to link my pieces to a place with a untakeable liberty (against the edge of the board or something) then enclose the opponent. Or alternitavely i would try to set up formation like the following to make a impenetrable spot (doesn't work to well for me) ;)

-0-
0-0
-0-

- = space

I think this is some kind of common play?
Has anyone else got any tactics or anything to add?
it's all appreciated :)

burp
1st August 2000, 02:09
HHman,

Welcome to the E-budo Go Forum! For that matter ... welcome to Go. :)

The history of Go goes back about 3,000 years. There are different theories on it's origin, but the common theory is that it was some sort of divination or something. Anyway, Go has developed into the game it is today due to the development of Go in Japan over the past 400 years. An excellent link for the history of Go would be: http://www.cwi.nl/people/jansteen/go/history/index.html
If you're a top pro in Japan, you could expect to make around a million dollars (U.S. equivalency) or more per year. That would include game fees, tournament winnings, lectures, television appearances, go schools, and go publications (books and articles). That's how big the game is in Asia.

Tactics and strategy? Endless! Everygame can be different and involve literally myriads of different strategems and tactics. Because of this, the game is constantly evolving. The wonderful thing about the endless possibilities is that you can create and experiment. Of course there are some common strategic principles and tactics ... you can check into some go books for that.