PDA

View Full Version : Myth of the Samurai

Zoyashi
17th April 2002, 20:29
Samurai b.s.
Hello all, I've noticed that from time to time the dreaded “We must learn to be like the samurai” pops up in various threads all over e-budo. I’m a student of Japanese history and lived in Japan for several years, and all I can say is, thank god there are no samurai around. Samurai were racist, violent, brutal oppressors. Don’t like a peasant’s hat? Cut off his head. Like a woman? Rape her. Don’t want to pay your bills? Cut off the merchant’s head. Christians bothering you again? Crucify fifteen or twenty thousand of them, including children. Samurai were interesting and exotic, and parts of their legacy are worthy of emulation. But only a very minor part. In the main, they were savage killers who oppressed the other 90% of the population and believed in values opposite to the basic rights and ethics most of us hold dear. It should be noted that the time in which modern Japan most embraced “the samurai ideal” was previous to and during WWII: beheading contests, “comfort women,” the rape of Nanking, tens of thousands of Korean women forced into sexual slavery, the massacre of prisoners of war. Saying we should behave like samurai because they studied budo is like saying we should act like Nazis because they had good organizational skills.
Any thoughts?

Josh Gepner

Don Cunningham
17th April 2002, 22:42
Josh,

I think you've taken a few myths and common misconceptions and made a case which has little to do with reality.

Samurai were racist, violent, brutal oppressors.
What do you base this comment on? You mention the rape of Nanking by the Japanese invaders, but that wasn't done by any samurai. That was bushido twisted into a bizarre militaristic fantasy and then used to inspire commoners recruited into the Emperor's service.

Don’t like a peasant’s hat? Cut off his head. Like a woman? Rape her. Don’t want to pay your bills? Cut off the merchant’s head.