PDA

View Full Version : Theory or Fact?

Dave Fulton
27th April 2002, 04:20
I recently started studying Jo and have a question the classical training. I understand that sparring is not a part of the classical training, but I'm curious to know if anyone has done any kind of extra-curricular sparring. I'm not talking about sports type sparring. I'm talking about using sparring as a laboratory to validate their understanding of and ability to apply the art. If so, I'd be curious to hear details about how they approached the sparring and what they discovered.

Thank you for your time.

Respectfully,

Dave Fulton.

tcasella
27th April 2002, 06:41
I don't know if this will be of any help to you because I don't have that much experience with the Jo however, I do use the Bo and the Hanbo quite a bit in training/sparring and the majority of the techniques that I have learned are fairly sound. I have also noticed that alot of the techniques can transfer from one size "staff/cudgel" to another. I am in Law Enforcement so I find this pretty handy sometimes. Hope this helps
:toast:

Dave Fulton
29th April 2002, 02:58
No one? I am surprised.

To clarify, I am not criticizing the classical training for not including sparring. I am just curious to know if anyone has ever gotten curious about applying their art against a resisting opponent in real time and, if so, what they did and what they discovered.

Respectfully,

Dave Fulton.

Tom Christy
29th April 2002, 05:04
Mr. Fulton,

A long time ago Wayne Muromoto (of Furyu magazine fame) posted a story relating to this topic on the Iaido-L list that you might find interesting.

http://listserv.uoguelph.ca/cgi-bin/wa?A2=ind9512&L=iaido-l&P=R5618&m=4280

Enjoy,

Tom Christy

FastEd
29th April 2002, 08:26
I'm not sure how anyone can truly "spar" with a real Bo,Jo or Hando without getting seriously injured or killed. So I would be interested in if Tcasella could elaborate..!

Quote: