PDA

View Full Version : Technique comparison between Shorinji Kempo and Hanmudo

Audrey Hoo
14th June 2002, 09:37
Onnagashimas.

I'm currently a new student of Hanmudo(korean martial art that's affiliated to hapkido) and I have also just discovered Shorinji Kempo.

I'm wondering if anyone is familiar with both styles, that may be able to give me some insight into this? From what I notice , (and this might really be superficial), the techniques seems by and large similar. Philosophy wise,they seem some what similar -- being balance bewteen of soft and hard techniques, focus on 'ki' meditation. I'm quite curious to see what are the real differences/similarities between these two martial arts, beside their roots.

Thank you very much.

Audrey Hoo

Mäki-Kuutti Vesa
15th June 2002, 11:31
Hello and welcome to the long way to budo.

Personally I have had the possibility to try many different styles of selfdefence or budo (Aikido, Iaido, Ju-jitsu, Judo, Hanmodo -just basics) during my earlier years. Now I have been concentrating in Shorinji Kempo since 1986.

But you asked about the similarities of S.K and Hanmodo. When You look from the technical side they are obvious, when you look for basic ethical principles as beeing a human or morals they are quite near. The pedagogic systems of teaching and the background philosphy are different. There are also differences in basic movements.

I think that the differences or similarities are interresting, to discuss, but the main thing is that:
In order to advance in any style or way of Budo, you have to work through its own system of learning and "learn how to learn" the style.
This is of course if you want a good and functioning way to defend yourself if needed.

To get to know different styles from inside is one way of learning, but it may happen that you dont finally learn anything good enough.