PDA

View Full Version : magnets?

Soulend
25th June 2002, 11:29
Seems like the use of magnets in joint braces and wraps used to be found only in catalogs offering rotary nose-hair clippers and 'miracle' vitamins. But I note now that orthopedic supports, etc. with magnets inside are found even in mainstream department stores right next to the ACE wrap. Is their any sort of clinical evidence supporting the claim that magnets help speed healing of injuries? Or is this simply New Age nonsense?

tcasella
26th June 2002, 05:00
Unfortunately, I am not a doctor and I have no answer...sorry; but I do have an observation. My father in law is a licensed accupuncturist in Korea and I have heard him discuss the use of magnet wraps and the like with some of his patients. Apparently they have been in use (in that part of Asia anyway) for a while. I have even seen in some department stores in and around Seoul that have special mattress pads for your bed that have magnets inside of them. Any doctors out there with some knowledge on this one???

BigJon
26th June 2002, 15:23
Hello, from personal experience, I know that they work fro some things. My good friend tore a muscle really bad in his left leg playing basketball. His mother suggested that he use her magnet inserts from her shoes in the leg wrap. After a day his leg became very discolored and pretty gross to look at from bruising. The only thing was, wherever the magnet insert was on his leg, there was a shoe shaped "clear zone" in the bruise, it was pretty funny! Just thought I would share that one with you. Jon Gillespie

Ginzu Girl
28th June 2002, 01:22
Originally posted by Soulend
[TEXT DELETED]
Is their any sort of clinical evidence supporting the claim that magnets help speed healing of injuries? Or is this simply New Age nonsense?

I'm not sure about any specific studies but I believe magnet therapy is quite popular with certain schools of Japanese acupuncture. And apparently in other parts of Asia too.