PDA

View Full Version : Kicking problems

Zen_Celt
7th July 2002, 03:54
I just started studying Bushidokan style Karate and noticed that I have difficulty kicking.
I have been told that my power is acceptable but my technique needs some real work. The problem is that after a few(even non-powerful) reps, my legs turn to mush and I am unable to work technique because my legs are so weak that I'm no longer kicking but throwing my leg into the bag to make some contact. I was hoping that those of you with more experience than myself could describe some exercises to strengthn my legs so I can practice clean kicks long enough to actually perfect my technique.
Domo
Scott Torrence

Tommy_P
7th July 2002, 04:14
Hi Scott,

I'm sure opinions will vary but I have always belonged to the school of "you want to kick (or punch) better, then kick or punch MORE".

Giving advice over the net is difficult because no one can really "see" what your problem is. I'm a bit confused by the statement that your power is good but not your technique. Thats sort of like telling Mike tyson that he scored a great knockout but it didn't look pretty! Either the kick works (hits hard) or it doesn't. Maybe he wants to see tournement flash.

There are leg strengthening (your probably looking more for endurance though) excercises such as squats that would help, but I would recomend to just keep kicking. Use the heavy bag and kick away. Don't try to kill the bag, power and speed will come in time........just continue to progress.

Just my 2 cents

Good luck
Tommy

n2shotokai
7th July 2002, 05:45
I agree with Tommy P, it all comes in time don't push it with the kicks, slow and steady.

Leg exercises (pick a couple, don't do them all now):
squats.
stairs .
All your blocks and punches in a deep kiba dachi.
We do A LOT of ten no kata, with low stances.
I train karate every other day, the other days I do STRETCHING, weights and long WALK or JOG.

Bag work (slow):
Front kick.
3 sets, 12 reps each side.