PDA

View Full Version : A Boy's First Pistol

Son of Thunder
10th July 2002, 05:36
I have never owned a pistol, though I have shot several of my father's. What with college and graduate school, I've been flat broke for years. However, now that there's light at the end of my academic tunnel and the prospect of gainful employment looms in the near future, I'm starting to shop around.

As a newbie, I am naturally overwhelmed by the possibilities.

What would you recommend as a good first pistol that would be a useful self-defense weapon but not "too much gun" for a first-timer? I've been reading about the reliability and solid design of Glocks and the various Desert Eagles, but I'm having a hard time separating the facts from the corporate hype. And what about revolvers?

I. B. Confused. :mst:

John Lindsey
10th July 2002, 06:06
I use a Glock 19. Some pistol ranges will let you rent guns to try out. You need to find you that feel good to you too. The Glock fits my hand well and points nicely. I used to use a Colt .45 for many years, but sold em for the Glock!

Jody Holeton
10th July 2002, 07:55
Dear Son,

Have you looked at the Beretta line?

Make some friends at your local gun range, take a gun safety class, and try out some different types.

I am no expert BUT I have had some experience with Kimber, Glock, Beretta etc.

See what feels good for you and what you like.

Have fun--Jody

George Kohler
10th July 2002, 08:15
Charles,

AAARRRR!!!! You don't know what you just did. Pretty soon this thread will turn into "This gun is the best..." or "No, this gun is the best." Then it will go into which caliber is best. Hope you find what your looking for.

I hope I'm wrong.

You did mention self defense. Is this for home defense?

lemming
10th July 2002, 08:59