PDA

View Full Version : Please help me with a new High School Course

Barrie North
12th July 2002, 04:14
Hi all,
I have been lurking in the forum for a while and want to get the input of people here.

I am a teacher at a high school and have convinced our administration to offer a "martial-arts" class for a trimester. This came about because my sensei actually works at the school as a drug and anger management counsellor. He actually runs his anger management classes (which are pull-outs) very similar to a dojo class. So, we thought, why not pull in more students, go every day and offer it as a credit bearing class. The credit btw is "performing art" as I am certified in science not PE :(, even though a shodan.

So we will be on the mats 3 days a week with my sensei and just me in the classroom for 2 days a week. The help I need is what to be doing in those 2 days (12 week, 24 in all).

Ideas I have had:

Watch films (any ideas?)
Watch themselves perform Kata (taped from matwork)
Discussion
Research about MA

Bear in mind the students are, er, challenging to say the least. Periods are 70 minutes. We will study aikido, judo, jujitsu and goju-Ryu.

Thanks,
Barrie North
Rivendell Academy
White River Budokan

Jdalton51
12th July 2002, 05:23
It is a great idea if you can get the philosophy across.

Best of luck.

Joseph Svinth
12th July 2002, 05:47
The Kent, Washington, school district has had judo in the high schools since the 1950s. See, for example, http://www.kent.k12.wa.us/KSD/KW/activities/clubs/judo/judo.html .
Another area high school judo club is located at Foss High School. Its website is http://www.angelfire.com/wa2/judo/index1.html . Probably if you would write the teachers and administrators involved, then you could get some ideas for pitching your students, parents, and adminstrators.

Jeff Hamacher
12th July 2002, 05:58