PDA

View Full Version : Youth Classes!

Budoka 34
22nd July 2002, 19:30
Does anyone have any good games they would like to share for karate tots(5 to 8 years)classes.
I've been working in adventure education for over 12 years and this is the most demanding thing I've ever taught.:D :D :D
I love it!

Joseph Svinth
23rd July 2002, 07:15
Try Red Rover.

You know the drill -- the kids line up holding hands, and then they take turns trying to bust through the line.

The martial application teaches triangulation and extension.

Have the kids try to bust through. Most won't, and those who do are usually big kids running hard, meaning that they are relying on mass and momentum.

Now, have the kids busting through put both hands together in front of them. A great big V pointed away from themselves, just like the bow of a ship. Next, tell the kids to focus at some point behind the line, way off in the distance. In their minds, nothing's in the way, they're just explorers headed, like Lewis and Clark, to Oregon.

Suddenly holding gets a whole lot tougher.

Once everybody has this down, then it's time for the next lesson. This one teaches the role of proper (and essentially subtle) body alignment.

Here, all you do is have the kids linking arms point their index fingers at one another while holding each other's wrists. That's it. Do this secretly, too, for that big kid who just runs through the line. Don't tell him, though, let him figure out what they're doing for himself.

In the end, we have a children's game that we can play all day, and that adults like, too.

INFINOO
25th July 2002, 22:54
How about wheelbarror races around the Do-jo. After that try some crab walking races. Good clean fun and really good conditioning. After these two games doing kata will be fun :D.

Regards,

Gregory Rogalsky
Rogalsky Combatives International

Budoka 34
26th July 2002, 12:10
Good stuff so far!:D

Thanks all.

HinodeBuddha
27th July 2002, 15:30