PDA

View Full Version : Snapped Achilles

AndyM
23rd July 2002, 01:11
Hi,

I'm a newbie here, so take it easy please folks.

A good friend of mine (Melanie) pointed me to this forum cos there was some good advice given on the ACL thread.

I was wondering if anyone here had experience of Achilles tendon rupture. I was unfortunate enough to completely rupture mine training. Though the ends have been stitched together as of two weeks ago, i'm in a cast, and set to be in it for another two months. Followed I'm told by around six months physio.

Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks

Andy

Steve Loftin
28th July 2002, 15:52
I don't really have any advice for you, but I just want to wish you a speedy recovery. After years of ankle locks and only minor injuries, I can definitely understand the severity of your injury. I hope you recover quickly and fully.

AndyM
20th August 2002, 00:44
Thanks anyway Steve

Andy

Jdalton51
20th August 2002, 02:30
Trust your physiotherapist and do the exercises he/she tells you to do. It will be painful and unpleasant at times but it will ensure a great recovery.

Good luck.

9demons
20th August 2002, 04:04
I had a horrible accident once with Uchi Mata. My ankle did not require any stitching, but I was out of commision for about 2 1/2 weeks. I think it might be similar, but from what you are describing I would say that your injury seems worse.

Although after it had healed, I started to work the flexibility of my ankle. Incidentally I worked that ankle a little bit more and am now more flexible in that ankle (not a big thing, because there is not much call for flexible ankles).

I hope your recovery comes quickly.

Joe Kras
29th August 2002, 18:00
A complete Achilles tendon rupture IS a very serious injury. A couple of years ago a visiting instructor in our karate dojo was backing up quickly and raising his front leg to kick when

SNAP!!! The loudest crack that I had ever heard erupted...