PDA

View Full Version : aiki v1.0

gato
11th August 2000, 17:55
I read the excellent post about the relationship of “ aiki ” and Kenjitsu and i thought....
“aiki” in Daito ryu and Yanagi ryu is a tecnique that was concived in the context of combat with edge weapons and later aplied to taijutsu arts (Aiki-jujitsu).
Knowing some of the caracteristics of the aiki tecnique application in combat reality, i wonder if you can make a comparison between this and the more vague concept of aiki in conflict found in aikido
The aikido strategie (tecniques) is effective per se?
Is there a relationship between this and the famous quote of Ueshiba : “aikido is 99% atemi”
Just curiosity
Thank you

Nelson Sanz

Kendoguy9
11th August 2000, 18:28
I am no expert on Daito-ryu or aikido, but I will try to answer the question based on my limited knowledge. Aiki as described by Katsuyuki Kondo sensei, of Daito-ryu, is off balancing at the moment of contact. So the very second the uke or the attacker makes any sort of contact with you, they should be off balanced already. When they strike you, the instant your hand touches them with a block, parry, or other such defense they should be off balanced. Many times with very small taisabaki the uke will be pulled off balance, and straight in to a punch or other atemi. So Ate-waza is very important in Daito-ryu aikijujutsu to create instant off balancing, which Kondo sensei calls aiki. This might be a dumbed down concept, Kondo sensei gave us just to make learning easy, I don't know. I susspect that aiki in Daito-ryu is far more complex then that. Or maybe it's not, just very hard to do :).

Gambatte!!!

Richard Elias
11th August 2000, 21:43
Nelson,

The concept of aiki in Yanagi Ryu is a little different than in Daito Ryu, or in Aikido. And I would venture to say it is probably a little different in every style.