PDA

View Full Version : Taisha Ryu

Moriki
30th July 2002, 12:19
Does anybody know if there is still a living Grandmaster of Taisha Ryu Kenjutsu?, or of anybody practicing Taisha Ryu?

yours truly
Brian Carpenter
GWNBF/KJJR UK KOMORI DOJO

Soulend
30th July 2002, 20:48
But I believe it is Kouzo Kaku, and as far as I know he is still alive. Here is his license:

Menkyo Kaiden (http://www.kaku-kouzo.com/family/kaku/kaiden.html)

Moriki
31st July 2002, 16:14
Dear David,
Thanks for the info, any chance of shedding a little light on Kouzo Kaku and his branch of Taisha ryu?

yours truly
Brian Carpenter

Soulend
31st July 2002, 21:35
Very little light, I'm afraid. Just biographical...I have very little knowledge of the Taisha ryu except historical info.

Kaku's official name is Kouichi Kawasaki. He appears to be affiliated with several arts including Shinden Muso-ryu, Ritsugan-ryu and Imaeda-ryu, some form of jujutsu, as well as Aikido.

I believe he lives in Nara today, as he lectures at Nara University, where he himself graduated with a degree in history. He has published numerous books including 'The Mysterious Power of Ki: The Force Within'. I have heard this is a good book, despite the somewhat 'over the top' title.

Sorry not much info. Perhaps someone with better knowledge of this ryu will happen along...

Nathan Scott
10th August 2002, 00:48
Hello,

I never heard of Mr. Kawasaki, but allow me to offer the following:

The "Menkyo Kaiden" linked above to his web site appears to be a bit misleading.

The certificate is titled "Taisha ryu Iai Shinjutsu" and written to Kawasaki Koichi. The title name is a bit odd, and does not match any of the names of the densho I've seen for this style, but does appear to have been issued by the current headmaster and could very well be real.