PDA

View Full Version : How does one bow out gracefully?

Tripitaka of AA
7th August 2002, 01:57
When I was a practising Kenshi, I was a little obsessed. I'm sure you all know how that can feel. I trained at my local club twice a week (on a Tuesday night from 20:00 until after midnight, then again on Friday from 18:00 until late). I started training on Saturdays at the club where Black-Belt kenshi could receive extra attention. I took on some of the club paperwork and offered my help at the Children's classes. It was nothing that you haven't seen around you in your own training environment, I daresay.

But it was getting a little beyond living half for oneself and half for others. The balance that Kaiso would have stressed, had started to disappear from my life. Work drifted, without aim. Social life reduced to the Kempo gatherings. My focus narrowed until I was living the Kempo life 24/7.

All of that was fine until I met a young lady...

"Aaaahhhhh", I hear you say. "How many times have I heard THAT one!".

You can guess the rest. I was torn between my old single-life/single-focus, and my new responsibilities as a partner in a relationship of equals. I tried to maintain the balance and my partner strived to support me, but new situations bring new challenges and I realised that my priorities had to change. I needed to get a better job, move out of my parent's house, build a stable future and mature as a being.

My departure from my local club was not planned, it wasn't kind and I wish I could have found a better way to bow out gracefully. I felt guilty for letting down my Sensei, guilty about disappointing those who may have looked up to me... and also angry at myself for not having understood my partner's needs until she had become quite ill.