PDA

View Full Version : Shorinjiryu

hobbitbob
10th August 2002, 06:55
Hello all!
I've just begun studying Shorinjiryu Karate-do with Sensei Shunji Watanabe in Owings Mills. The basics are quite diffferent from what I haev been accustomed to in Shotokan, and I am curious to know if any members on this forum have any knowledge about the founder (Kori Hisataka) or the particulars of this style? I know that Hisataka sensei was a student of Kyan Chotoku, but that seems to be where the "history" section of most webpages stops.
All in all, its kind of odd to be a complete beginner again, but also quite worth it!
Robert L. Welch
Baltimore, Md.

MarkF
10th August 2002, 11:36
Have you tried the Shorinji Kempo forum a little further down on the index page? You might find something there, but they also post here, too.

Just a thought.

Mark

Yamantaka
10th August 2002, 14:29
Originally posted by MarkF
Have you tried the Shorinji Kempo forum a little further down on the index page? You might find something there, but they also post here, too.
Just a thought.
Mark

YAMANTAKA : Uh..Mark San, he's asking about SHORINJI RYU KARATE DO, not SHORINJI KEMPO. (Two different arts you know...)
Best

Tatsu
10th August 2002, 23:21
Originally posted by Yamantaka

YAMANTAKA : Uh..Mark San, he's asking about SHORINJI RYU KARATE DO, not SHORINJI KEMPO. (Two different arts you know...)
Best

Haha no doubt! Doshin So's Shorinji Kempo is a Japanese Zen Buddhist dealie. Chotoku Kyan's Shorinji KarateDo, is a form of Okinawan Shorin Ryu. There are plenty of sites about Shorin and Shorinji Ryu. The main difference between the Shorin and Shorinji styles is the latter's use of a vertical or standing fist. Chotoku Kyan actually used a 3/4 fist, but many Shorinji practitioners use a completely vertical fist. Bye bye....

Bustillo, A.
13th August 2002, 10:33
[QUOTE]Originally posted by MarkF