PDA

View Full Version : Another Kage Ryu?

Yamantaka
14th August 2002, 13:49
Dear friends (specially those residing in Japan),

I was contacted by a fellow who pretends to be the official representative, in Brazil, of a japanese koryu called KAGE RYU. Both he and our friend, Hyakutake Colin, agree that this school in Brazil is not the Kage Ryu, of which Colin San is a Menkyo Kaiden.
Does anyone knows anything about this other KAGE RYU?
Below is a letter he sent me with some information about his school.
Hope you can help me
Yamantaka
###################################################################

"Let me present myself. I'm a doctor with a MA in Oriental Medicine by Kinki University (?), in Nara, Japan. I have 49 years and I practice Budo since I was 15 years old. I did Judo, Aikido, Kendo and Kage Ryu. I'm Yondan in Kendo and Sandan in Kage Ryu. I teach those last two arts : Kendo twice a week and Kage Ryu 4 times a week. In 1992, I founded the Yamabushi Association for the Martial Arts, a non-profit organization involved in martial arts practice and the study of its philosophy. In my association we study Aikido, Judo, Jiu Jitsu, Kage Ryu, Karate and Kendo.
In the period I lived in Japan I had the opportunity to met and train in the Kage Ryu :
KAGE - Ideogram of "shadow", may be read IN as in the relationship IN YO or YIN/YANG, in chinese
RYU - ideogram of NAGARE, meaning school or tradition. So, Kage Ryu means "The School of the Shadow".