PDA

View Full Version : uke

meat
11th September 2002, 05:47
Hi guys, I was wondering what the pronunciation of uke is? is it pronounced oo-ke, oo-ki, yu-ki or yu-ke? I hate trying to pronounce romanji!

Tatsuko
11th September 2002, 06:11
Hi guys, I was wondering what the pronunciation of uke is?

It's oo-keh.

Michael Bland
11th September 2002, 08:09
Tatsuko already answered your specific question on "uke", but just a note for any further questions you might have:

Japanese pronuciation is incredibly easy - as far as languages go.

VOWELS
Japanese vowels are always pronounced the same - like a long vowel in English... Or have you ever taken Spanish? Just the same!

A = "awe" in "awesome"
I = "ee" in "feet"
U = "oo" in "boot"
E = "ay" in "day"
O = "o" in "No"

Hope that helps you.

-Michael Bland

meat
11th September 2002, 12:56
Thanx Tatsuko and thanx Michael, I do know how to pronounce Jap vowels(I am a first year uni student), but most of the time when reading romaji its impossible to tell whether a vowel is supposed to be pronounced long or short(take Osaka for instance). If its hiragana, no problem.

Tatsuko
11th September 2002, 14:05
but most of the time when reading romaji its impossible to tell whether a vowel is supposed to be pronounced long or short(take Osaka for instance). If its hiragana, no problem.

Blame it on the numerous different methods of romanization. :) (The biggest difference between them being how they handle the long vowels.) It's one of the reasons I've never liked romaji.