PDA

View Full Version : Wonderin past on Sensei

hiddindragon08
17th October 2002, 22:03
:cool:
Hello guys, My name is Ryan Smith and I am currently a student under the instruction of Sensei Kevin Johannes. He's no longer part of the Okinawan Koei-Kan federation but he was trained under the style of Koei-Kan. He teaches us his own rendition of Koei-Kan and someday I will do the same and incorporate various techniques and styles such as Five Fist Tae Kwon Do into it as well. I just want to validate his honor and see if anyone can tell me a little about him. Thanks.
-Ryan Smith

18th October 2002, 01:53
Originally posted by hiddindragon08
:cool:
Hello guys, My name is Ryan Smith and I am currently a student under the instruction of Sensei Kevin Johannes. He's no longer part of the Okinawan Koei-Kan federation but he was trained under the style of Koei-Kan. He teaches us his own rendition of Koei-Kan and someday I will do the same and incorporate various techniques and styles such as Five Fist Tae Kwon Do into it as well. I just want to validate his honor and see if anyone can tell me a little about him. Thanks.
-Ryan Smith

First, I think Koei Kan is from Japan not Okinawa.....according to most website I have seen. At least the founder Onishi was from Japan.
Second, What is "Five Fist Tae Kwan Do"? I have never heard of it.
Third, Why would you need to add it to what seems to be an already viable art?

Onishi History:

Evolution & Migration of Koei-kan from Japan
History Of Koei-Kan Karate Do Gaku: An Ancient Traditional Martial Art