PDA

View Full Version : Miner's Elbow

DJM
21st August 2000, 00:59
Hi. Just a request for further information about the above condition from any Doctors amongst us. I can't remember the medical name for it - Burstitis or something similar sounding. It's where your joint suffers from some bleeding, presumably due to an impact, which presses against tendons..
I picked this up about a week and a half ago, and have been resting it as much as possible. Also on Ibuprofen to reduce inflamation.
My primary interests are (i)How much can I safely do with it (thinking about ukemi in Aikido..)and how soon?, (ii)anything I should be aware of with this? and (iii) What are the usual causes? The reason I ask about (iii) is that I didn't feel anything when I did whatever, only the next morning when I couldn't bend it..

Many thanks in advance,
David

Joseph Svinth
21st August 2000, 01:35
I am not a doctor, but had bursitis of the hip about 15 years ago. Okay, it wasn't nearly as exciting as sciatica, but it was still most unpleasant. The treatment? Aspirin/ibuprofen/etc. (really, your preference, no matter what doctors or others on the pharmaceutical companies' payroll might tell you) plus RICE, meaning Rest, Ice (first 72 hours, heat after that), Compression, Elevation...

Whirlpool/jacuzzi treatment is considered good, but no matter what you do expect 3-8 weeks for recovery. If you push yourself (say by doing rolls on that elbow), then of course recovery will only take that much longer.

Also expect to wear elastic bandages or rubber braces on the injured joint during training for the foreseeable future.

Some websites:

http://www.mayohealth.org/mayo/9506/htm/bursitis.htm

To prevent the return of bursitis, the above website suggests: