PDA

View Full Version : what's the most profound lesson you've learned?

hakuda
28th October 2002, 17:17
As martial arts students we all have been in a learning process for years and for some only months. As a student for many years, I feel as though I missed out on great lessons in the early part of my studies. Since I was 8 when I began, many lessons were over my head. But as I've gotten older the lessons seem to hit me head on.

I would have to say that my most profound lesson had to do with an instructor that I thought highly of not being all that he seemed. This instructor had many great accomplishments to his credits including films, martial arts awards from different associations, and many competition victories. However, the more I studied with my present sensei, the more I learned about the destructive power of ego. This instructor could overcome anything, so it seemed. The one thing that defeated him was his very own ego. He has all these accomplishments, but now he is reduced to teaching at a resort. This may seem like the perfect gig for most, but where is the depth of the art transmitted to? How do you really show the value of what you have been taught? I'm not saying that he is now a nobody, just that what he had strived for(really interested and dedicated students), has been put beyond his reach at this time.

In my line of work I have really learned the value of being muga. To be polite, respectful, and a genuinely honest, caring human being will get better results from those you seek to either help or influence. To someone not fimilar with being without an ego, it looks as if you are laying down for paople to walk all over you. But what they fail to see is the satisfaction you get from helping someone or avoiding a phsyical confrontation.

This is probably my most valuable lesson if not my most profound. I have come to realize of all the techniques I have learned, learning how to not use them has been my greatest lesson.

Thomas Wall

Walker