PDA

View Full Version : re. 'peak' training experiences

tony leith
5th November 2002, 17:47
Hi all

I was just having one of those involuntary spasms of reflection brought about by the realisation that I've been doing Kempo for 11 years - I realise that to those of you who started in your cribs this might not seem very long, but when you train in a university dojo you achieve grizzled veteran status after about three years, and by this point I'm practically a geological feature (as in fossilised relic). Anyway, I'd be interested in hearing about what experiences particularly stick out in your Kempo careers:-

Selection of random highlights from mine-
1)Seeing Sensei Graham Knabbs and Nori san stitch the air with dan mawashigeri when they visited us in Glasgow when I'd been training for about three weeks - I remember thinking 'thank **** they're the good guys".
2)Seeing Mizuno Sensei do sokuto geri for the first time a few months after that when he came up to grade us - I say see, I don't think I actually saw it in transit, but he did obligingly hit the pause button at full extension. This occasion was also memorable for being the one and only occasion I've ever heard Sensei swear (mildly) in a dojo - he'd basically just got off a plane from Kenya then had to get on one to Glasgow for our grading, prompting the comment that Glasgow that "Glasgow was bloody cold". We couldn't help but feel that this was not a good omen.
3) Seeing the late Mori Sensei negligently flip the largest kenshi available through the air one handed (bad luck Dave Marshall for being conspicuously the largest kenshi - well probably anywhere).
4)Seeing Aosaka Sensei kick one of his aides round the room at Sayer's Croft - the effect being heightened by the running commentary the poor sod had to try and give at the same time.
5)Seeing Arai Sensei doing anything..

Anybody else care to chip in their top five (or thereabouts)

Tony Leith

Juan Perez
5th November 2002, 18:08