PDA

View Full Version : Tabi

R Erman
7th November 2002, 15:57
Where is a good place to get quality tabi(indoor) online?

Also, would most of you recommend the tabi socks--do they really help extend the life of the tabi?

Evan London
7th November 2002, 17:38
I don't know about tabi socks preserving the life of tabi, but, wearing socks sure helps them from getting too stinky. Also, save your money and just wear regular socks with the between the toes area pushed in.

Ev

michaelCODY
7th November 2002, 17:39
Ive always used regular white cotton socks with my tabi and Ive been using the same tabi for five years. These are, however, the outside tabi. And this include using them for: hiking, water training, climbing, rain, snow. Anyhow, while the thread remains accessible, Im curious if anyone knows where to get some good leather tabi. I ordered some a few years ago yet never recieved them. Any help is always appreciated. Thanks.

Troy McClure
7th November 2002, 20:30
I agree about the outdoor tabi! Ouch! They kill my feet.

I'll stick with modern technology and the handywork of 12 year old children. I'll put my Nike cross trainers up against the best tabi.

As for indoor tabi, the best ones are the suede bottoms. I have some great ones that are thick suede on bottom and have double layers and stitching on the seams. I think they'll last forever. Those cotton tabi are only last me a couple of months.

Jim_Jude
7th November 2002, 21:02
Here are a couple of links...

http://www.martialartsupply.com/Apparel/Shoes/Tabi/Mat_Tabi_High_Top_w__Velcro/mat_tabi_high_top_w__velcro.html

http://www.ambersports.com/halftabiboots.html

BTW, if the sole is white, & you want them black, just go get some RIT dye from the drug store & soke them in it & make sure that you wash them with just black for the first couple washings. It worked on my outdoor tabi & turned the RUBBER SOLES BLACK. It's surely going to work on suede.