PDA

View Full Version : Shidoshi Resignation?

campsinger
18th November 2002, 18:00
Hey, y'all...

I'm new to e-budo, but I've been trying to catch myself up on the back posts over the last couple days. My name is Ron Bergman, and I'm a Bujinkan yondan in the frozen hinterland of South Dakota. I've got a license from Hatsumi-sensei that says I'm also a shidoshi-ho, but whether I can actually teach anything is open to interpretation other than mine. I began training back in 1987, and have a website at www.usd.edu/nin. For those of you who were at the St. Louis TaiKai this year, I was the uke that Natasha Morgan pile-drove into the stage...twice.
:look::smash: :look::smash:

Anyway, all seriousness aside....

I heard from one of my former students over the weekend some disturbing news: Ken Harding has left the Bujinkan and no longer recognizes Bujinkan rank. I was told he is teaching along the lines of Jinenkan, although he is not affiliated with that organization that I know of. I checked his website at www.mbdojo.com, and he now refers to what he teaches as Missouri Budo Taijutsu, and he is teaching six of the nine ryu-ha: Gyokko-ryu, Koto-ryu, Shindenfudo-ryu, Kukishinden-ryu, Takagi Yoshin-ryu, and Togakure-ryu. He only has two or three lines that mention Hatsumi-sensei, stating only that he trained with Hatsumi-sensei from 1990-2002. The pictures on his dojo kamiza are of Takamatsu-sensei, although there is one picture of he and Hatsumi-sensei on the photos page.

I'm not trying to be inflamatory or acuse anyone of anything. If there are any students of Ken Harding on e-budo, I humbly ask for your input. Any of the rest of y'all got any info on what's up? I'm merely trying to understand what's going on.:confused:

Also, got an email from Phil Legare last week that said he was closing his dojo and moving to Japan for more training opportunities with Hatsumi-sensei at the end of the year. Bummer for us.

Gambatte...
Ron Bergman
Bujinkan Kushin An Dojo

Tamdhu