PDA

View Full Version : A sorta technical question.

ChrisHein
26th November 2002, 20:22
Reasent ly i have been studying chinese internal martial arts, and they made me ponder this question. I have been studying Aikido for several years and have always heard of it's beginnings in Daito ryu, I have thumbed through Daito ryu books and seen pictures of things very similer to what we do in Aikido, and i've seen things very similer, and even called by the same names in jiujutsu books as they are in Aikido. However I don' ever really recall seeing a kokyunage, or iriminage, I have however seen throughs very similer in chinese marial arts. So I was wondering if there are similer throughs in traditional japanese marital arts, besides aikido, and if anyone knows aproximately when they apperd on the seen? It seems to me that most of judos throughs and Aikidos throughs are very differnt, and I am wondering if that is due to the sportification of judo from juijutsu, or if it's from O-senseis interpitations.

I'm greatful for any information
thanx
chris

Benjamin Peters
26th November 2002, 21:32
chis, in my perception (as an outsider to the arts you mention), there seem to be similarities to the kokyu and irimi type throws you mention. upon a cursory examination of this daito-ryu techniques web-page, i saw irimi nage of differing types and forms of techniques you could argue as kokyu. http://member.nifty.ne.jp/daito-ryu/gihou.html have a look and tell me if you can see resemblances too.

ChrisHein
26th November 2002, 22:58
hey ben, i tryed to look, however, it seems that page is in japanese, my kanji is a bit rusty, or well non existent, thanx anywho
chris hein

Benjamin Peters
27th November 2002, 02:55
Originally posted by ChrisHein
hey ben, i tryed to look, however, it seems that page is in japanese, my kanji is a bit rusty, or well non existent, thanx anywho
chris hein