PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions on inexpensive yet usable Katana

cc_ninja
1st December 2002, 03:45
I am looking for an inexpensive yet usable Katana for live cutting. Can anyone make a suggestion. My wife has already claimed divorce if I spend over $600 (puts me in a real bind), & I kinda want to keep her around. Anything used or in imperfect condition anyone could suggest. I am currently studying Bujinkan Ninpo Taijutsu & this sword will be abused. I do not want any 440 Stainless crap as I have seen a stainless sword break & go through another students leg.

Thanks for the info,
Richard Elizondo

Bruce Mitchell
1st December 2002, 04:13
Hello,
I would recommend that you do some reading on swordforum.com In their magazine archives they have reviews of inexpensive blades (under $300.00). I believe that they gave a thumbs up to the Kris Cutlery katana as a decent quality low end sword. There are real dangers to misusing any weapon (moderator Nathan Scott has a great collection of sword horror stories), no matter what quality it is (especially if you plan on abusing it). Best of luck.

Carlos Estrella
1st December 2002, 14:04
I've used a Shinto Katana for two years now and have cut mats from Mugen Dachi pretty much all of that time with no ill effects on the blade. It wasn't expensive (http://www.ecmas.com - my blade costs $499.95 plus shipping from Bob Elder's shop), and a rather prominent instructor whom I've trained with was not against my using it, since I was mindful of its limitations (not for very heaving cutting, and a little too easy to bend slightly when performing any serious torquing of the blade in techniques).

I wish you luck in your sword search, as well as your "personal battles."

Chidokan
1st December 2002, 16:09