PDA

View Full Version : Hello and Thank You

Tony Tung
26th August 2000, 02:11
Dear Obata Soke,

My name is Tony Tung; I am a beginning student of Scott Sensei in Hermosa Beach. I wanted to say several things.

First of all, thank you for taking the time to appear on a forum such as this--to see you spreading the art of Shinkendo has been an inspiration for several students like myself. It is fantastic to see such active involvement from the one who with such a wide range of experience and knowledge.

I also want to thank you for sharing Shinkendo with the world in general. I have trained in different arts in the past, and each has taught me a wide range of things. I must say that Shinkendo has given me that "something" that I have been searching for ever since I came to Los Angeles. I tried looking at several kendo dojos and iaido classes, and although close, nothing seemed to really strike me (excuse the pun) until I found Nathan Scott Sensei back at Loyola.

Since then I have undertaken the study of Shinkendo with much of my time outside of work and tried to embrace it into all areas of my life. It has given me a chance to meet challenges within myself, and to use what I learn in class to help me develop as a person.

I look forward to the day when Tsuki Kage Dojo is ready to humbly request your presence to teach a seminar at our branch.

Please take care and know that you have given quite a gift to the martial arts world. I am honoured to be a part of it.

Respectfully,

Tony Tung
Tsuki Kage Dojo
Hermosa Beach, CA. USA

Obata T
27th August 2000, 06:04
I am happy that more people are starting to support and understand Shinkendo as a whole. I would like students to understand the philosophy and enjoy Shinkendo for what it is.

With students and instructors like you, I think that Shinkendo will become better over time, as other martial arts have that have endured the test of time.