PDA

View Full Version : Considering the premature purchise of an iaido,

Gorget the Frog
22nd December 2002, 09:07
I'm considering the purchase of an Iaido (from swordstore.com). However, I have no experience in the art whatsoever as of present. I plan on perusing it when I get an opportunity; no teachers seem available in my area. For now the iaido would serve as part “toy” and part display piece.

Seeing as I sincerely believe that I will eventually take to using this iaido, should I purchase one? I intend to follow a “recommended” blade-length for my height, coupled with some testing, and allow swordstore to base the length of the tuska on my hand size.

However, I realize that individual schools have specific preferences towards these attributes. I’d rather not impair myself by making a poor purchase now.

(Please bear in mind that I’ll likely be doing Seitei Iai when I begin)

Chuck.Gordon
22nd December 2002, 11:49
I'd advise against buying the iaito before you find a dojo. If you want to play with a sword-like thing, spend your money on a bokuto (wooden sword) designed for beginning iaido students. Seidokai Supply at http://sdksupplies.netfirms.com/ can provide one for far less money than you'd pay for an iaito.

Look here:

http://sdksupplies.netfirms.com/

Chuck

Carlos Estrella
22nd December 2002, 13:38
Hi. I did exactly what you are considering, and only by sheer luck has it worked out to any extent. I actually WON an iaito from Tozando a few years ago and exchanged it for a cutting blade (Shinto Katana from Paul Chen) because I wanted to learn with a "real sword." The good news was that both of the world-class sword instructors I made acquainances with didn't mind me using it, and I had a "beater cutter" to learn with. The BAD news was that now that I am beginning to learn what a decent sword is, I realize that I should've used the iaito for form (and beauty - it really did look good - Tozando's Kotetsu model KA-82).