PDA

View Full Version : What's underneath your dojo's floor?

stir
16th January 2003, 00:57
Hi,

I have recently been put in charge of helping my dojo find a way to put some bounce in our floor. I am looking everywhere for choices and thought I would like to ask for the opinions and/or experiences of some of you here.

We have about a 30' x 30' surface at the moment. We have very 'quick' mats that were apparently donated to us from the Kodokan. They are a little stiffer than the kind of mats that you would find at a shiai nowadays, but they do have a fair bit of give. We are convinced that it is more a matter of what's underneath them that is causing us such discomfort. I believe right now it is layered as such:

Bottom: some kind of honeycomb shaped 'sponges' layed out in a pattern. They do not have very much give.

second layer: There are actually 2 layers of plywood here, the top layer being layed perpendicular to the one underneath it. I am no engineer or carpenter for that matter, but this seems to me that it would increase the stiffness of the floor alot as the two layers would work against each other and hardly move.

Third Layer: Some kind of silver coated carpet underpadding, approximately 1/3 of an inch thick.

Top Layer: The old Kodokan mats.

Please believe me when I say it's akin to breakfalling on mats that have been layed on concrete. You get some padding from the top layer, but there is absolutely no give.