PDA

View Full Version : Is shorinji kempo a religion

Kimpatsu
1st November 2001, 07:00
Gassho.
I have a question that probably has no absolute answer, so I'll ask it subjectively: Is Shorinji Kempo a religion? If so, how much of a religion is it? By which I mean, how far is it overtly religious? And if not, why not? Whatever your stance, do you think this is a good or bad thing?
I'm interested to hear the opinions of other Kenshi.
Kesshu.

Borghese
1st November 2001, 19:48
Gassho,

Tony, what is your purpose in asking?

God bless,

Robert Borghese

Kimpatsu
1st November 2001, 22:44
Dear Robert,
Curiosity.

luar
2nd November 2001, 11:56
Perhaps the answer to your question lies with the converse: When is a philosophy or ideal not a religion?

Borghese
2nd November 2001, 14:34
It is a religion as well as a defensive way. Most martial arts have an attached philosophy.

I studied for a few years under Morikawa Sensei in Kyoto. Perhaps a couple of relevant facts passed on to me: When the Bodhidarma came up out of India to carry Budhism to China, he developed/incorporated a series of physical movements into his teaching for the purpose of conditioning and preparing the body for learning. When Doshin So returned to Japan and wanted to teach this philosophy of living together in peace he brought the developed martial art and began teaching it for similar reasons - exhaust the body and prepare the mind for learning. He figured if they kids won't listen, at least I can teach them to take care of themselves. As far as its status as a religion Doshin So went to Tokyo and registered SK as a budhist religion so that they would be allowed to continue their studies during the Post WW II occupation, while most other martial arts schools were shut down.