PDA

View Full Version : Aikijujutsu in Washington (State)?

Tom Campbell
30th August 2000, 19:35
I'd appreciate any suggestions or contact information anyone out there may have for aikijujutsu schools/instructors in or around Seattle, Washington. I'm especially interested in Daito Ryu instruction. Gendai budo schools/instructors that base their training in practice/understanding of Daito Ryu techniques/principles would do.

As far as koryu budo goes, I know about Phil Relnick's Shindo/Shinto Muso Ryu school in Woodinville, but not much else.

Thank you for your help.

Tom Campbell
30th August 2000, 19:44
Whoops, I should have said koryu bujutsu, not koryu budo. Sorry for the error. I'm a beginner here, and did not intend to ruffle any armour.

Ron Tisdale
30th August 2000, 21:18
You should see if you can locate Ellis Amdur. If I was in Seatle, that is what I would try for (don't know if he would have me though). I believe he teaches Araki ryu and possibly toda ha buku ryu (feh...thats Toda-ha Buko Ryu). I also believe he used to do/teach aikido.

Ron Tisdale

[Edited by Ron Tisdale on 08-30-2000 at 03:29 PM]

Earl Hartman
30th August 2000, 21:27
Tom:

Actually, the term "kobudo" would work just as well.

As Ron has said, Ellis Amdur is in Seattle, and while he does not teach aikijutsu as far as I know, he does teach Araki Ryu, which has hand-to-hand techniques as a large part of its curriculum. Mr. Amdur also teaches Toda-ha Buko Ryu, which concentrates primarily (but not exclusively) on the naginata, to the best of my knowledge.

Earl

Tom Campbell
31st August 2000, 00:01
Thanks, Ron and Earl. I spaced out on Ellis Amdur. I actually met him briefly, at the 1999 Kagami Birake for Phil Relnick's Shinto Muso Ryu dojo. He gave a rough and sizzling demonstration of some of his Araki-ryu art. Those guys play for real.

I've also read where he has quite a lot of experience with Aikido.

I'll follow up your tip and see what he's up to.

Thanks again.

Patric