PDA

View Full Version : What exactly is Togakure Ryu ?

Shinobi2003
10th February 2003, 00:32
I am a new student in the Bujinkan and I have hundreds of unanswered questions, that when I try to get answers it just creates more questions!

So, there seems to be alot of knowledge here so maybe someone will help me.

1. What exactly is togakure ryu ninpo?

2. Am I studying a theory or a tested art?

3. Will any of these techniques I'm learning ever combine to be useable knowledge? I feel as if I am just learning random kata and there is no rhyme or reason. There is no laid out lesson plan or curriculum?

The lessons I've attended thus far, I learn the motions just no understanding of principle and understanding of my art.

Am I studying Ninjutsu or not???

Oni
10th February 2003, 01:17
Heh,

First thing first. You must sign all your posts with your full real name. You can set this up in your user options to automatically do this for you.

1) Togakure ryu is one of the 9 schools of martial arts that the Bujinkan is made up of. Lots more to it but that is a start ;)

2) Many of the techniques taught in the Bujinkan are what came back from the battlefields. What didn't work obviously did not come back. Of course things have most likely been added/subtracted/adapted in the many years between then and now...so I guess in some ways the answer is both.

3) Depends on you and depends on your teacher. There are many folks out there teaching these arts. Most Bujinkan schools that I have had experience with do not use a curriculum or lesson plan system. Don't think that because of this that there is no rhyme or reason though...it may just be that do not yet understand these things. Of course it is possible that you have an instructor w/o reason ;) The Quest system that I teach and am involved with does use a curriculum. It is really up to the individual instructor.