PDA

View Full Version : Calligraphy ??

Neil Hawkins
5th September 2000, 00:31
I am looking for either a website or good book on Shodo, specifically any etymology of the characters, why they developed what characters conbine to make other characters and so on. Any ideas? Obviously I would prefer english language text as I am very new to the Japanese language.

For example Dave Lowry in "The sword and the brush" states that the character for Shin (mind/heart) is supposed to represent the heart with it's four ventricles, or another story has it being a boatman guiding his long boat. I find this interesting and would like to know more.

I would also like to find a list of Kanji for the common MA terms, ones that are a bit more stylistic than are generated by a word processor. Plus I would like to copy them and use them so they would need to be not copyrighted images.

Any help would be appreciated.

Regards

Neil

john mark
5th September 2000, 01:20
Hi Neil,

My Japanese is limited; but assuming that you are referring to Kanji and not Katakana, I might be able to help.

I recommend Cracking the Chinese Puzzles by TK Ann it's a 4 or 5 volume set. If you are less ambitous, try Fun With Chinese Characters by the The Staits Times.

There are other books that emphasize understanding the radical. Any good one will do.

Re Shin -- I was taught that the character was a simplification of the pictograph for the heart.

When writing rember your stroke order -- top to bottom, left to right, outside inside, closing stroke last.

Best,

[Edited by john mark on 09-04-2000 at 07:46 PM]

Neil Hawkins
5th September 2000, 01:44
Thanks John,

I'm less interested in learning how to do it, and more interested in the history, origins and so on.

I would also like to use some kanji as illustrations on some articles I'm writing. If I learn something whilst I'm doing this that's a bonus, I'm pretty resigned at this stage to not ever being fluent in Japanese. :)