PDA

View Full Version : Kobudo/koryu?

Hanna B
2nd March 2003, 11:59
I have heared the word "kobudo" used with two different meanings:

1) as a synonym to koryu bodo.
2) meaning "budo where weapons are used".

Are both, one or neither of these descriptions correct?

Regards

fifthchamber
2nd March 2003, 13:55
Hi Hanna.
The 'Ko' in both 'Kobudo' and 'Koryu' is the same Kanji. It means roughly 'Old' or 'Classical' and thus these terms are translated as 'old-martial-ways' and 'old-school/traditions'....Although many of the Kobudo do use weapons the kanji 'Ko' does not describe 'weapon use' in the terms. 'Ko' is also used in the term 'Kobujutsu' in the same way and means 'classical martial techniques' in this instance.
I have not heard it used to describe weapon arts. And have found no Kanji for 'Ko' meaning 'weapon'....So your second definition is incorrect.
Regards..

kaishaku
2nd March 2003, 14:38
I post the following with the caveat that I am not a langauge expert.

I agree with the above post; however, it seems of late that the term "kobudo" or "kobujutsu" is often related to weapons arts and sometimes specifically Okinawan weapons arts.

The reason for this may come from defining "bu" versus defining "ko."

Bu is is related to terms such as warrior, military, or arms. Most often it is thought of as a meaning "military" or "related to the military".

Soemtimes it is found inother words like "bushi" and "bujutsu."

The character for "bu" is a composite of two others. The bottom inside left character, I believe means, or is, "foot" suggesting movement on foot whereas the upper larger character to the right is a prototype character of a halberd or a spear attached to the end of a pole. This is an obvious inference to cutting, piercing, stabbing, or even killing.

When these are conjoined, one interpretation is is advancing on foot with a weapon, thus referring to a warrior (bushi) and therefore the military.