PDA

View Full Version : Modern Arnis. How good is it for CQC?

stanley neptune
14th March 2003, 15:51
Has anyone ever done Modern Arnis? There are some pretty renowned instructors in the New England area. I was wondering how good it is as a system of self defense. The Filipino and Southeast Asian arts are catching on in New England and Modern Arnis seems to have the advantage of an early foothold on this area.

Your thoughts would be appreciated.

Stanley Neptune

Jock Armstrong
24th March 2003, 08:49
I`ve never studied Modern Arnis as such- the system I learned was Doce Pares. CQC- very good if you use a straight baton [cop or security]. Lots of good sriking and locking tech using the stick. Good unarmed responses to stick and knife attack.

Worth the doing.

Sochin
24th March 2003, 15:14
Ahhh, the debate between the art and the fight continues...

As a karate student, I studied FMA to develope a defense that I could consider realistic. As a practiced beginner, I went against a seasoned professional player and won two out of three knife passes by using his training against him.

Sure, the FMA can give you good weapons control but the 'attitude' may not be the cqc attitude that stops the guy now!

It also failed in its focus on sparring, a failing of modern karate training too...the use of sparring, which is not fighting, as the next best thing, whereas I saw sparring leading to bad fighting habits.

After you get enough weapon control to feel secure, strip down the art to what makes sense, x and thrust repeatedly or whatever.

Oh, how did I beat the guy? FMA teaches cut your way in so I 'let' him have my empty hand and while he was whitltling it, I planted my trainer over his heart.

pugilist
24th March 2003, 20:42
Um, I'm certainly no expert, but I know there are many different styles of FMA, so I dont think it would be correct to say _all_ FMA do this or that.

pugilist
24th March 2003, 20:45
Originally posted by Sochin