PDA

View Full Version : Influence on Zen?

Kamuii
7th September 2000, 08:10
I do not know if this should be posted here, but I did it anyway. Feel free to relocate this thread if necessary. Thank you. :)

Ok, my question is: Has Taoism influence Zen in any way? I believe it did not, but I am not sure, since I am not an expert in this field. Any comments or replies are welcome. Thank you. :)

Arnold Vargas
Genbukan Satoichi Dojo
&
Tsunami-Ryu Bujutsu

jion
8th September 2000, 02:30
Greetings Arnold-

Zen & Taoism. Funny how one gets labeled as an "-ism" and the other retains it's classically-oriented Japanese title (guess Ch'an didn't get picked up in the West).

Timewise, I think we'd be on the safe side to say that the development of Zen DID in fact rely heavily on then-prominent Taoist terminology. When many of the important Zen sutras, commentaries and lectures were being translated, written and given, a wealth of Taoist terms were "borrowed" to explain concepts for which the Chinese lacked an appropriate "Zen term."

In so doing, it's only natural that terms bring with them the baggage of where they departed from. And as Chinese Ch'an matured and split into its various sub-sects, these Taoist-generated ideas were more deeply investigated and challenged.

Just as an aside, what kind of influences were you thinking of (looking for?)

Kamuii
8th September 2000, 04:39
Hi Jion!

Well, it was just a question one of my students made me and since I did not have a really concrete answer I posted the question here to see if I and eventually my student would get some insight on the event. :) But then again it is interesting how these get intertwined(sp?) Then, is Zen(Zenism:) ) a mixture of Buddhism and Taoism?

Thank you! :)

Arnold Vargas

[Edited by KAMUII on 09-07-2000 at 10:48 PM]

ghp
8th September 2000, 07:19
Jion,

(guess Ch'an didn't get picked up in the West).