PDA

View Full Version : Authority on Shuriken?

Jason W
2nd April 2003, 14:37
I'm not sure where I should have posted this, but since it concerns an historical issue, I thought it may fit here.

Could someone please tell me the name and contact details for an authorirty on shuriken, based in the US, possibly in the Chicago area?

Sounds like an interesting little project has come about.

thanks in advance

Jason Wotherspoon
http://www.aikidoaus.com.au/dojo/shuriken

Jason W
3rd April 2003, 02:50
OK, what am I doing wrong? Is it because I'm a newbie, or I'm posting in the wrong place, or no-one here knows, or just plain no-one cares? Not enough info?

I'm looking for someone who has a good knowledge of old shuriken, shaken, manriki, jutte and kusari gama for authentication purposes.

More info for those interested in helping...

cheers,
Jason

ChrisMoon
8th April 2003, 12:51
I know who you are talking about. When did he pass away? I think I read somewhere that you study Masaki-ryu, is that true?

Jason W
8th April 2003, 14:31
Hi Chris,

I believe it is Charles Gruzanski you and Daniel are referring to here, but I am not sure. And, no, I don't study Masaki Ryu - its the shuriken of Negishi and Shirai ryu that I study, although informally.

Thanks to PM's from Daniel I don't really think I need to go any further with this. I was asked by the late Charles G.'s son Robert to help him authenticate some weapons of his father's, I gather for purposes of selling. I was unable to help, and thought of putting him in touch with a learned member of this forum.

Anyway, it seems that he has already approached several members here, so I'm going to let it drop. I can't help him from over here in Oz...

Thanks anyway.

cheers,

Jason

PS: If anyone would like to send me photos, anecdotes or information etc about shuriken, I would be happy to put it up on my Secrets of Shuriken site... I intended it to be a resource for anyone interested in the art.