PDA

View Full Version : Mugai Ryu Iaido Waza

ghp
8th September 2000, 06:59
I originally posted this message on Sword Forum International's "Japanese Sword Arts" page. Then I thought, "D'oh!" So, here it is again. Sorry if you are reading it a second time.

Cautionary note. I studied Mugai Ryu for only a couple of years from 1970. I learned the first 5 waza, but never learned the meanings of the names; nor, do I think my American teacher knew the meanings. I am not an expert in Mugai Ryu – I barely remember the first five waza. The majority of my observations below are speculative at best and are probably incorrect; however, a couple of “educated” guesses might hit close to home (e.g., Suigetsu and Ryo Sha).

I put this loose “translation” foreward in hopes that it might help others who are studying Mugai Ryu. If any reader knows the proper meanings to what I have written, PLEASE contact me so that I can make corrections. As it stands now, please consider this a work in progress.

Thank you,
Guy Power
======

Culled from various issues of Kendo Nippon magazine

MUGAI RYU WAZA

Seiza no bu. Kneeling Section

Go-Yo (Five Needs)

1. Shin. Truth, reality. When combined with “shomen” [front of dojo] it is called “ma-shomen” and means “right in front.” Probably a reference to "true, real" front as that is where the direction of attack is focused.

2. Ren. Connected. The literal meaning of ‘ren’ is “ream, set, party, company, gang, clique” – all groupings. The same kanji, using another pronunciation, means “stand in a row, be connected with, put in a row, accompanied by.” I think the “be connected with” is appropriate as the kata piviots 180 degrees to the left, “connecting” front to rear.

3. Hidari. Left, where the direction of attack is focused. I learned it as "Sa" which is same kanji, but using the Chinese pronunciation.

4. Migi. Right, where the direction of attack is focused. I learned it as "Yu" -- Chinese pronunciation.