PDA

View Full Version : Problems Learning

meat
15th April 2003, 13:31
Hi guys, I'm in my 2nd year of Japanese at university, and at the moment I feel like I'm just going nowhere. I'm picking up grammar alot more easily now, but as for vocab and kanji, it seems like the more I learn the more stuff I already know gets pushed out. Did anyone else go through this? Any advice/tips?

Meik Skoss
15th April 2003, 22:25
Use the language every day. Not just in class. For real. I've never studied the language formally, but it only took me eight months to pick up enough to understand/converse with people and, since then, I've learned a little bit every day. Even now, back in here in the U.S., it's possible to continue learning bit by bit.

The problem is, of course, it's all too easy not to use Japanese in one's own country. And it's hard to lose the accent (Ockers have a particularly strange one, when it comes to Japanese, let alone in English!) unless or until you use the language in real-time. The best way, natch, is via training and apres-geiko suds 'n spuds. If you can't do that, well, get yourself one of those ikiteiru jibiki, but be careful not to pick up the wrong locutions (I met a guy who did that once and it was waaaaay strange!).

Hope this helps.

Don Cunningham
15th April 2003, 22:50
I agree that constant use is the best way to hone your language skills. I picked up my limited Japanese language skills on the fly while living and working there. I don't recommend this, though, since it was often quite difficult and even led to many embarrassing situations. I tried the classroom route later, but I didn't personally like it much. I also found that what is taught in the classroom versus what is used in actual conversation can sometimes be quite different. This is especially true for those learning English as a second language, by the way.