PDA

View Full Version : Karate vs Kung-Fu

Yamarashi
21st April 2003, 15:43
Different from the usual Grappling versus Striking debate, I would like to gather opinions about Karate versus Kung Fu.

I practiced Wado-Ryu Karate (including some ground fighting, since my sensei was also a black belt in BJJ) for 10 years.

When I moved and couldn't find a Wado school nearby, I started practicing Northern Shaolin Kung-Fu (Bak Siu Lum) with a highly respected chinese master.

However, everytime I had to spar (light and full contact), I "felt" my karate techniques and tactics were superior to KF's.

Also, I was involved in 2 real fights, where I ended up using my Wado Karate's techniques.

Why ?

Is really Karate a simplification of Kung Fu, but more practical ?

Are all those beautiful and long Kung Fu movements innefective ?

Or is Wado-Ryu, with its short, powerful but evasive techniques what fighting is all about ?

shadow42
21st April 2003, 16:21
I think your body is using what it knows best.
You practiced Wado-ryu for 10 years. when you switch over to kung-fu you cant expect to adabt instantly and stop using your Wado techs, just because you are learning something different. If I had a dollar for everytime I got yelled at in class for using a karate-style block instead of whatever I was supposed to do, Id have quite a few dollars. You're more familiar with wado-ryu, you're going to rely on what you know to work.

And also, it might just be that it is better!

Gene Williams
21st April 2003, 16:29
It is really not very useful to make those kinds of comparisons. There are good fighters in every art, and every art can teach you what you need to defend yourself. It is the spirit that you build through training that keeps you alive. I'm sure if Royce Gracie were an aikido student or a karate student or a kung fu student he would be just as tough an opponent as he is in BJJ. It is like the old question, "Which is the best gun to use?" Answer: "The one you have." Gene