PDA

View Full Version : From the Student's Perspective

Stevo
24th April 2003, 13:38
Occasionally I like to take up a totally different sport just to re-acquaint myself with what it's like to be an absolute novice again. It's a very humbling exercise, often painful, and sometimes humiliating, but I find it a great way to refine my teaching skills. Does anyone else use this approach? What benefits have you found? :confused: :rolleyes: :eek: :look:

tddeangelo
24th April 2003, 15:41
I don't know that I use it as a "method," but after 9.5 years of jujutsu, I've taken up iaido. While not completely new and different, it is substantially so. During the first month or two, trying not to fall flat on my face while wielding a bokuto was a nicely humbling experience! It was kind of refreshing to see a different and new path before me for the first time in almost 10 years. I'll never leave my jujutsu training, and I am and always will be learning new things and traveling further on that path, but it is really fun starting down a new path at the same time. Makes my training really interesting!

Regards,

Charles Choi
25th April 2003, 07:15
It's a very humbling exercise, often painful, and sometimes humiliating, but I find it a great way to refine my teaching skills. Does anyone else use this approach? What benefits have you found?

I recall when 'switching' to another form of martial art, the immediate feeling of having to completely learn he ropes again, from both instructor and fellow student. In my path, I find moreso that in martial arts, your prior experience is less regarded - most likely due to style. Yes, it is humbling and in fact, shows how what kind of self view you have built around youself/others.