PDA

View Full Version : kendo bogu quality?

Lan Nguyen
28th April 2003, 15:02
I am just a kendo beginner, having several question about bogu:
1. Please give me your evaluation about the bogus from e-bogu, Kendoshop, Bogubag. I just want to know what I should avoid when I need to purchase a set in a few more months. My price range is about $500.00 up and down.

2. Is the titanium Men is a must for a long term or Duraluminum is ok too?

3. The Kendoshop use Cow leather for some set, instead of Deer leather. Is there any different in quality, useful, and durability?

4. Is 3mm, 4mm are the best choices or should I try something different which I am not going to regret later?

Thank You very much for your replies.

Shoki
28th April 2003, 15:56
This all depends on whether you are going to be serious Kendoka or not. If the answer is yes and you will train on a regular basis then my advice is to go for a set that costs as much as possible.

Kendoshop is a good deal as they keep their prices down with the labour costs whereas in Japan they cannot. Go for deer leather on the kote...on the men and tare it is not so necessary ...deer leather lasts longer and feels more subtle....so that's why you want it on the kote.

I would say that if you train twice a week then go for a 3mm........however this is where I come back to saying go for as much as you can afford..........the 2mm from Kendoshop will last just as long as a hand made set.........it just takes longer to wear in as it is not made to measure.........

At the end of the day you do not want to buy a better set in ayear and wish you had forked out a bit more the year previous and got what you wanted in the first place!!!! This has happended to me before with all sorts of boys toys!

Anyway.....good luck and enjoy Kendo.....you can't beat it!

Kind regards
Robert Anderson

StanLee
28th April 2003, 15:59
Try posting the same question on the kendo world forum. They will have a lot of answers for you there.

Stan

gendzwil