PDA

View Full Version : Goju ryu question

seskoad
1st May 2003, 17:42
I am new in my dojo and affraid to ask my shihan. My dojo is Goju kai organization which is under gosei yamaguchi and the dojo run by Shihan iwan pranation. My question is:

- What is all breathing (like sanchin) for? My experience in my own country in Indonesia, we have so many ryu in traditional art (silat) like merpati putih, panca daya, etc. The training is used breathing, but it has purpose to build your inner energy and sixth sense. So when you fight for example merpati putih, the opponent can blow away (jumped on other way) without even touch the guy.

- Was there any breathing method in shotokan? I did shotokan when i was a kid, and I never see shotokan people do breathing kata.

- What was the effectiveness when you doing kumite by small jumping? i don't know how to describe it properly in English. If you see kumite tournament the moving was like repetitive small jumping. In my dojo, when we do kumite we didn't do that jumping. what we did more, well I mean not too stiff when you have opponent. The dan holder in my dojo usually open the kumite with 'cat's stance' (I forgot what it is called in japanese) and I found that way more comfortable rather than small jumping. I got more exhausted when do kumite with small jumping.

thanks and I hope you understand what I mean.

Rob Alvelais
1st May 2003, 18:13
You're afraid to ask your Shihan? You need to quit, and find another dojo. You're not going to be able to learn and develop, if you're in an environment that fosters fear and intimidation, instructors that won't answer your questions or you've got too many hang ups to ask questions.

BTW, I know Gosei Yamaguchi. He was my wife's first instructor. He's a lovely man, who is very kind and happy to answer questions. So, if the top guy in your org is so approachable, why should anyone underneath be less so?

Rob
(a shihan, btw)

CEB
1st May 2003, 18:49