PDA

View Full Version : Instructor Maintenance

Phil Farmer
5th June 2003, 17:00
I got the idea for this thread from another one in which I answered a question. My thought here is to get input from other instructors about the issue of keeping your own training going while teaching classes. I have been teaching for eight years and during that time, my greatest challenge has been to keep pushing my own training to each new level while still keeping my students interested. It can be difficult to practice high level throws when there are no students experienced enough to take the falls.

In my style, we have clinics on a regular basis and a week long camp each summer but it is sometimes hard to keep yourself motivated when you have large groups of beginners to teach over and over again. My other concern is that there are many instructors out there on their own with no organization to support them. It is easy to quit learning and just keep doing the same things over and over again, or to invent things. Thoughts about this, anyone?

Phil Farmer

kenkyusha
5th June 2003, 19:26
Not sure,

I've been lucky with training partners (I do teach, but am still actively a student as well) who are willing to work as hard (to be frank, harder) on the stuff.

For solo training, I tend to focus on refining subtleties of posture and attitude for both taijutsu and buki, coupled w/some heavy weapon work for building speed and endurance. And of course hours and hours of ukemi.

Nothing like that look on your instructor's face (you know the one, the, 'why do I waste my time with you?!?!'-look) to make one want to suck less for the following class. :)

Be well,
Jigme

Dean Whittle
5th June 2003, 22:51
I maintain my own skill level (and hopefully improve it?) three ways.

Firstly, I maintain close contact with my Instructor and regularly travel to attend his classes, so that I continue to be a 'formal' student.

Secondly, I do daily home training (solo).