PDA

View Full Version : Training through the pain

sonibasra
23rd June 2003, 14:51
I've been doing SK for nearly five years and I've got a problem which I'm sure you all have experienced - aching wrists! Does the pain come from years of abuse, or do the techniques just hurt more? How do you overcome this? I've tried to build up my wrists, but its taking a long time. Is it ok to wear wrist supports? The problem is that I feel like it is hindering my training and would love to hear your suggestions.

Most people I train with are bigger than me. This hasn't been a problem until now, but with the nidan syllabus I feel I can't take a lot of the techniques being done on me. I'm all for 'good' pain, but I feel the pain to be 'bad' (i.e causing injuries). Part of this reason in due to the wrist problem. Another point is that I'm trying to protect myself from injuries I've had in the past - how do you overcome this and regain your confidence? Finally, I'm not particularly strong and the techniques are usually done too hard on me - should I just get some muscles or just continue to tell my training partner? I'm sick of being the whinging girl - HELP!

Do you get to a point where you are just too weak to do SK properly?

Tripitaka of AA
23rd June 2003, 17:28
I am reminded of a conversation that Yoriko (my wife) had on returning to work after a Gasshuku summer training camp. She had many bruises on her arms from blocking kicks, punches,etc.

"My God, what happened to you?"

"Oh, I was training. For Self-Defense."

"Doesn't it hurt?"

"Yes, it hurts."

"Have you ever been attacked in the street?"

"No."

"So you pay people to hit you all over..."

Sometimes it is difficult to answer these questions.:D