PDA

View Full Version : Seeking Guidance

Budojin
22nd July 2003, 23:14
Greetings,
I have been practicing Kendo and Naginata for about 15 years, and during this introductory phase of my training I have ardently trained, meditated and studied in an effort to improve myself not only physically, but mentally and spiritually as well. In particular I have trained hard to develop my Zanshin and Ki (and therefore Kiai). The result I have observed over the years is that both attributes appeared to increase, sometimes allowing me to defeat opponents whom were better than myself physically (stronger, faster, etc.). I have tried very hard to practice with a resolute mindset that what I was doing was life and death and that I was prepared to die if necessary…..
OK, OK enough banter, my issue at hand.
At a recent seminar I was told by a Sensei (Kyoshi) that I respect very deeply that while my kata was “technically” correct (Kihon and Ma’ai) that it lacked logic because I was “too strong”. I.E. My Zanshin and Ki were so overpowering that it made no sense for my partner to attack me. I was told that I needed to now learn how to “control” my Zanshin and Ki. I am VERY confused by this but am trying hard to better understand and practice the advice offered. I am interested to hear any thoughts or observations you respected gentlemen might have to offer. I am eager to learn as I am still quite new in walking this path I have chosen.

Respectfully,

Kevin Saxton

Walker
23rd July 2003, 02:02
Originally posted by Budojin
OK, OK enough banter, my issue at hand.