PDA

View Full Version : Separate training?

razorback
29th July 2003, 00:16
I havent heard anything about women training separately from men, but I wonder if it would be of benefit to women if they could train in women-only classes.
I think it could really be a boost for martial-arts. Especially if it was done subtlely. Yoga comes to mind, many women enjoy yoga but they dont go into the full extent of studying yoga, all the philosophy, all the meditations, etc. And with classes like Tae-bo they exercise sure, but they dont address specific women issuses of self-defense.
Anyone want to share their 2 cents?

A. M. Jauregui
29th July 2003, 11:17
I am generally the only woman in the class - for sure the only one at the dojo that I train at. So I do not have a problem in the slightest about mixed training.

A friend of mine started a women’s (only) karate class back when I was an undergraduate - I was the punching bag, uh I, mean I took ukemi. At first I thought that such discriminatory training was horrendous but it did bring in some girls that would not have trained in a mix dojo. One of those means to an end situations...

No matter where one practices self-defence training is never going to be foolproof. Most everyone with a bit of common sense knows this. Most of the girls in the class knew that they had a long way to go except one - she learned the hard way with a little match against me were I never left seiza...

CEB
29th July 2003, 18:33
Women only karate classes used to be more popular. In the cinematic classic "The Fighting Black Kings" the movie makes a point that women train separately from the men. When adult karate classes were more popular segregation used to be more feasible. Around here however number of students just aren't large enough to give the girls an adequate sample of training partners.