PDA

View Full Version : Something That Really Angered Me Last Friday

Steve Delaney
16th September 2003, 01:28
I'm currently an Assistant English Teacher (read performing monkey) and I've been in Japan for over five years now and I thought I was tough skinned. (I've been refused tenancy for some apartments in Saitama Pref. just because the Oyasan didn't like foreigners. On another occasion, I had booked tickets for the Twin Towers last December at a local WB multiplex cinema and requested the front row, but somehow ended up at the back of the theatre along side twenty other foreigners. Looks like Jim Crow is alive and well in Japan!)

On Friday, last week (September 12th) I was asked to be a judge for the local municipal Junior High School English speech contest alongside three other AETs. There were about 30 or so competitors taking part and for the most part, their speeches were quite good, for students of their calibre. The AET judges were asked to pick the top seven competitors to enter the Prefectural speech contest.

Here comes the problem; All of the AETs had unanimously picked one student for the top seven since he tried very hard and gave a good presentation. We were told during the score count by the board of education senior supervisors that this particular student that we had picked would have to be disqualified. Why? Because his mother was from the Phillipines. (His mother did not speak English, only Tagalog & Spanish.) :redhot:

The boy was born in Japan, his father is Japanese, he has a Japanese passport and citizenship. Now correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't the constitution of this backward country specify that all CITIZENS (Not all residents which is also a pitiful state of affairs) are to be treated with equality?