PDA

View Full Version : An indication of your balance and posture?

StanLee
24th September 2003, 09:40
The other day was the first day it had rained heavily for a long while in London and I had noticed that my left foot was getting wet in my shoe. So I knew that there was a leak. When I looked, I had found that the leak was due to a small hole punched through, perhaps by a small nail.

When I studied the soles of my work shoes again, I noticed that the wear on both shoes was even, in fact the pattern was a mirror image of each other.

I then remembered a story my sensei once told me. There was once a sword master (?? But a master none the less); he was issued a challenge by a rival master. So the sword master asked his student to go to his rival's home and take his shoes (the traditional Japanese wooden shoes).

Upon inspecting the shoes, the master found that the wears on the rival's shoes were uneven and he told his student that he could have the challenge.

This brings me to the point of this thread. How even is the wear on your shoes? This does not prove that you will become a great master, but it does say something about your balance, posture and how you carry oneself. After all, if you are an unbalanced MA, what good is that?

Brian Owens
24th September 2003, 10:01
One of my anatomy teachers was a chiroprator, and he could tell a lot about the condition of a person's spine, even the cervical spine, by looking at their shoes.

He was rather surprised to find on examining me that my spine was a nice even S-curve with no scoliosis, because my shoes were so uneven. I was working as a security guard in a highrise building at the time, and we had a fixed route we had to follow to hit all the Detex keys on time. I would walk down 76 flights of stairs twice a night, always clockwise.

Iain
24th September 2003, 10:16